Group: Experienced Exercise

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 50, Messages: 19484

For intermediate and advanced individuals. Share and learn how to take your fitness to the next level!

Join group

Singing and Weightlifting

cobratoba12
cobratoba12
United States
2007/09/11, 07:31 PM
I am a freshman undergrad at the Juilliard School in NYC. I major in classical singing, and have been told by my teacher that i should stop lifting weights because he said that it will screw up my voice. I have been lifting and doing bodybuilding routines for 3 years, so it will be very hard for me to give up lifting. Does anyone have any suggestions on alternative ways to stay muscular, lean, and happy without weights?

-Tobias
2007/09/11, 07:37 PM
He sounds misinformed to me. One benefit of core exercises would be a stronger diaphram. Could you just lift on the sly? There is no way lifting will hurt your singing ability. Now you probably won't look like the average opera singer but you'll sing as well as ever.

--------------
From aboard MV The Shop
Johns Island

Charlie
yadmit
yadmit
Canada
2007/09/11, 07:38 PM
Um.... that's a new one.

--------------
I see the words you are typing, but all I read is *click*click*click*

\"He may be gone, but Sanjaya proved that it doesn\'t matter how talented you are - if you believe in yourself, you can annoy literally millions of people.\" Jimmy Kimmel
BILL06
BILL06
United States
2007/09/11, 08:22 PM
possibly stronger of more defined neck muscles strainging the vocal chords or atleast changing their sound ????

i found this on the net.......

Bodybuilding and Opera
From voiceteacher.com