Group: Injuries & Rehabilitation

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 54, Messages: 4465

Dealing with injuries and learning how to avoid them is extremely important!

Join group

Stubborn shin pain

JessicaR
JessicaR
United States
2003/02/06, 05:11 PM
Okay, anterior shin pain - I'm not a beginner, I warm up and stretch well, I don't think it's my shoes - any advice here??? This has been a problem for months now. It gets better, then bad again. It was just about gone and then yesterday, boom - right in the middle of my workout they started throbbing again! I've tried changing my shoes, taking a couple/three weeks off high impact cardio, watching my stride length and making sure my heels come all the way down but *still* I'm dealing with this stubborn problem! I'm going to have a mold made of my foot to see if I can pinpoint the problem. In the meantime has anyone else had to deal with this? Will I always have to worry about my shins? I've had to give up running completely in the past because of this and now my primary cardio activity is Jazzercise, which I love! But it aggravates my shins! I'd like to become an instructor and I'm afraid my shins are always going to hold me back. Sorry to be a whiner but I don't want to swim or ride a bike. :( I want to run and go to Jazzercise. :( Any advice welcome!
7707mutt
7707mutt
United States
2003/02/06, 05:15 PM
Well since you have checked most everything else how about weak calf muscles? I have read some reports that the muscles on the front of the leg(shin area) can cause shin splits if that are is weak. So maybe trying to do so calf raises for that area(not quite sure how that works but I know that you can lift for that area) might work?

--------------
IF YOU CAN STILL ITCH YOUR NOSE AFTER ARM DAY, GO DO ANOTHER SET!!!
JessicaR
JessicaR
United States
2003/02/06, 08:11 PM