Group: Strength & Powerlifting

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 38, Messages: 16459

Discuss the topic of Power lifting, Strength training and Strong Man training!

Join group

shoulders

edwardJ
edwardJ
Australia
2008/02/06, 08:44 AM
so ive been doing strength training for 5 months now and i am finally making some solid progress. in my workouts i dont include any exercises that work on my shoulders. would my lifts benifit if i were to incorporate some shoulder work and if so what exercises would you suggest? i always felt that doing bench would be enough to work this area but i could be wrong - hat are your thoughts?

thanks
coolnatedawg
coolnatedawg
United States
2008/02/06, 08:51 AM
the bench hits the delts a lot. i also incorporate a lot of back work which helps, and face pulls. sometimes we do things like lat raises, but i tend to neglect overhead pressing. its to much to do both benching, overhead pressing, and tri work twice a week. you could always take 1 day to do some shoulders, and then replace it the next.

since inm unsure of how you lift exactly, overhead pressing is really beneficial. most lack overhead pressing work which is proabbly better than benching. however, for those powerlifters, obviously, the choice is easy...
Pemdas
Pemdas
United States
2008/02/06, 10:41 AM
I really don't agree with you nate. I also didn't do should work for awhile, but it is bitting me in ass right. Plus, all the guys over at elitefts advocate heavy shoulder work for raw benchers. This make a lot of sense if you think about. The shoulders are most active in bottom part of the bench. This where equipped guys get most of their support, which why they don't need it as much. I beginning to believe that heavy shoulder work is imperative for raw lifters. Now, you are probably going to ask where would I put it...right after speed bench.

To the OP...yes do some shoulder work and don't neglect your rear delts and traps. If they are feeling really run down just back off for a week.