Group: Health & Fitness over 40

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 206, Messages: 2480

Group dedicated to men and women over the age of 40 that care about their health and want to take the fitness and nutrition down the right path.

Join group

How to build muscle at 40

sanjeev_sk
sanjeev_sk
United States
2016/01/27, 09:27 AM
I have been working out at the gym for over 2-3 months. I follow a 5 day schedule that covers over all body training.
However I have only lost about 3-4 kgs of weight. How and what do I need to do to build up muscle ?
bb1fit
bb1fit
United States
2016/03/05, 03:35 PM
Gaining muscle at any age is difficult, and in your 40's and beyond it gets even moreso. What you cannot do is 'think' like a 20 year old, that you can gain lots of muscle. This will lead to just giving up. Be realistic in your goals. You mention you have lost 3-4 Kg. of weight. This leads me to believe fat loss is your main objective. If this is the case, you need to focus your efforts there. It has certainly been said a million times, you cannot gain muscle and lose fat simultaneously. This is largely true, even in your 20's. What you can hope for is lots more fat loss, with minimal muscle gain. But, loss of fat will enhance any muscle you do have, and this can give a great appearance to your physique, which in the end is more than likely what everyone is striving for. 

Ok, that out of  the way, muscle gain is done the same way now as always. Taxing/overload of a muscle group is what induces muscle growth. It has been debated to death over the years of high reps/low weight or high weight/less reps. Either can work, and in combination can work well. However, if I was cornered by a lion and threatened to mauled to death if I didn't pick, I would choose heavy weight, less reps.