Group: Men's Club

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 252, Messages: 6838

A place for men to gather and share experiences, advice and information amongst themselves.

Join group

guitar workout

Pritchard
Pritchard
United Kingdom
2004/04/10, 09:43 AM
i was just wondering why, when i am playing the guitar it makes me sweat more than when i work out.to me it makes no sense. anyone else have the same thing.
i posted it in here cos i didn't know what catagory it would fit under.
thanks

--------------
todays post was bought to you by the man of many names (pritchard aka fitchard, fitchy, fitch, adam, sadam, mr bump, forest, dime bar, and my personal favourite burcules )
end post..........NOW
howdiekat
howdiekat
United States
2004/04/10, 12:07 PM
i've gotta say, i've been playing guitar for 9 years and i don't think i've ever broken more of a sweat playing than i have when i'm working out, but you never know.
when you're talking about playing are you meaning like, sitting around the house playing a few riffs or do you mean like on stage? i know that when i play under lights the combination of the heat from the light and the amount that i'm concentrating on playing can make me break quite a sweat, but it's nothing compared to what happens when i lift.
this is just me though, you never know how much you can sweat when you really get into something, so i wouldn't say it's entirely out of the ordinary.

--------------
success comes before work only in the dictionary. that's right.
tenorsaxmandave
tenorsaxmandave
United States
2004/04/12, 07:46 AM
Yo Pritchard,

Playing on stage, I sweat way more than I do during an all-out 60-minute cardio session (or weight lifting session). Like Howdiekat said, the lights on stage can really heat things up pretty quickly. Plus blowin' into a tenor sax for 3 hours AND running 250+ pounds of Saxman around on-stage doesn't help either! This might be an unfair comparison, though -- a 3 hour performace on stage vs. a 60 minute workout...