Group: Beginners to Exercise

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 969, Messages: 18927

Share and offer advice to beginners to the fitness world!

Join group

From Heiffer 2 Hottie-HELP! (sorry Long)

fancyfaces1
fancyfaces1
United States
2008/01/15, 12:17 AM
Yes, I'm a Newbie, please forgive if my post is redundant, I'm new at the forum thing and cannot find one answer but many varying. I'm 37 yr old SHM and find myself fat for the 1st time ever. After baby #3(3yrs ago) I steadily gained. Never having been over 135-140 @ 5'6" I'm freaked at weighing 175 (ewe):(. I joined a 24hr gym last month and entered this whole new world for the 1st time. I thought I had planned this out better, but after only losing 5 lbs in 5 weeks I'm so confused as to how to lose the right way.
I feel like I've wasted the past month (other than getting my feet wet) according to many of these recent posts-CARDIO before weights vs after, no weights & cardio everyday? HIIT? Wha?

Here's what I currently do:
Started "Clean Eating" (sorta, b/c my fam thinks I'm killing them)
Drink 100oz H2O daily, 1 precious Diet Coke daily.
*I eat 1 protein waffle/bottle H2O AM
*Hr later 25 min cardio everyday (treadmill/bike)
*then m,w,f upper body (all 5 machines there 2 reps 15 at as much weight as I can do,till pushing at the end)
*Back & ab machine daily (80lbs 2 reps 15)feels like a good stretch
*T & TH same 25 min cardio followed by the 4 lower body machines at increasing weights 2-3 reps of 15
*Takes me about 1.5 hours more on upper body day and I follow w/in hour with protein shake and 1/2 cup oatmeal.
*BTW I never REALLY break out into a bonafide sweat during all this....I certainly don't look like the Biggest Loser folks while they are working out---I don't think I'm doing nearly enough?