Group: All Else Lounge

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 42, Messages: 22740

This is the place you can discuss anything else that is on your mind that isn't already covered by other groups. Share what's on your mind and see who else has something to say about it!

Join group

Any ACSM certified trainers?

2007/10/07, 04:05 PM
I'm studying for the ACSM personal trainer exam right now, and I was hoping to chat with anyone who passed the exam and is now a trainer. Just want to hear your before and after experiences with the certification process and what you're doing with your certification. Thanks.
wrestler125
wrestler125
United States
2007/10/07, 07:35 PM
I think that's one of the ones I have. I don't even know anymore.

What am I doing with my certification, that's a good question. hmmm. It's sitting in a folder somewhere if I ever need it. I'm pretty sure that folder is somewhere in Newburgh, NY.

A certification won't mean much, it's what you do after the certification that matters. I don't think I learned a single thing that I applied from my certifications. What is important is that you continue to educate yourself and learn from your experience. There are far too many trainers out there that get a certification, think that makes them an expert, and then stop right there. These are the type of trainers that we make fun of, and the ones that are ruining the industry. They are the ones that do ridiculous things on wobble boards and bands, for no reason other than client retention.

One of the best trainers I know has been in this game for over 40 years, and to this day still learns more each month than most trainers learn in a year.

My point is that the ACSM exam will not be what defines you as a trainer. There is far more to that.

--------------
SQUAT MORE ~Jesse Marunde

Mortal by birth.
Strongman by the grace of god.

Blood Guts Sweat Chalk
asimmer
asimmer
United States
2007/10/08, 08:01 AM
wasakat,