Group: Competitive Bodybuilding & Fitness

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 21, Messages: 5367

Discuss the process of preparing for a competition on the sport of body building, fitness and more!

Join group

Splenda?

Ksee128
Ksee128
United States
2004/08/24, 11:56 AM
I have been hearing conflicting information about Splenda and I was just curious about anyone's experience with it here. Some of the side effects are bloating, gas, migraines, constipation, etc. Has anyone here had that problem. I have been experiecing severe headaches as well as bloating for a while now and I am trying to determine what the cause is. Thanks for any help.

KAsey
2004/08/24, 12:04 PM
It just makes me slightly suicidal and gave me collie head..:big_smile:

Seriously my wife and I have used it for a few years and not experienced the side effects you mention. Do a search here. There are other posts on splenda and I've never heard of these symptoms from anybody.

--------------
Dances with Buffalos

Charlie
skeys
skeys
United States
2004/08/24, 07:27 PM
I have been using splenda for a while and I have never had any problems with it either.
bb1fit
bb1fit
United States
2004/08/24, 10:29 PM
Sucralose is produced by chlorinating sugar (sucrose). This involves chemically changing the structure of the sugar molecules by substituting three chlorine atoms for three hydroxyl groups.

Few human studies of safety have been published on sucralose. One small study of diabetic patients using the sweetener showed a statistically significant increase in glycosylated hemoglobin (Hba1C), which is a marker of long-term blood glucose levels and is used to assess glycemic control in diabetic patients. According to the FDA, "increases in glycosolation in hemoglobin imply lessening of control of diabetes.

Research in animals has shown that sucralose can cause many problems in rats, mice, and rabbits, such as:

Shrunken thymus glands (up to 40% shrinkage)
Enlarged liver and kidneys.