Group: Beginners to Exercise

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 969, Messages: 18927

Share and offer advice to beginners to the fitness world!

Join group

Need Advice

silvashane
silvashane
United States
2002/01/10, 10:55 AM
I am trying to follow the ft workout, but i am unable to workout on weekends, so i have had to move the rest days and workout days. is it ok to workout monday through thurday and rest all weekend?

also i had a personal traininer who said i should workout each muscle at least 2x per week. so what i have been doing is:

m - chest, bis (as described in ft program)
t - shoulders, back, tris (as described in ft program)
w - cardio (1hr spin class)
th - chest. bis (light, high reps, 2 sets per muscle)
f - shoulders, back, tris (light, high reps, 2 sets per muscle)

is this too much, too little, off base. any recommendations? i just need little guidance.

i have been working out intermittently for 4 -5 years with varying results off and on. i want to get serious and improve my tone and a little bit of size. i am not trying to get huge. i want to get rid of my stubborn love handles, bulk up my arms and chest, and tone and cut the rest. i just want to make sure i doing this right so i don't get frustrated. i'm currently 6' 180lbs and in decent, but not great shape.
Arnold
Arnold
Canada
2002/01/10, 11:52 AM
Hey.. welcome to ft.

First of all when do you train legs? And if you choose not to then why?

Training each muscle twice a week can be ok.. but it is not recommended. It all depends on what your goals happen to be. So let us know.

I would re-arrange the schedule like this to make sure that you get enough rest time:

Monday - Chest, Biceps
Tuesday - Cardio (add front thigh)
Wednesday - Shoulders, Back, Triceps
Thurday - Cardio (add rear thigh)
Friday - Chest, Biceps
Saturday - rest
Sunday - rest
Monday - Shoulders, Back, Triceps
Tuesday - Cardio (add front thigh)
Wednesday - Chest, Biceps
Thurday - Cardio (add rear thigh)