Group: Strength & Powerlifting

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 39, Messages: 16459

Discuss the topic of Power lifting, Strength training and Strong Man training!

Join group

Football

MLB39
MLB39
United States
2003/03/16, 08:16 PM
Hey I'm 14 years old and I play middle linebacker for my football team. I have been performing serious weight training since November 2002. My goal is to play first string on the JV team for my highschool next year, if i don't get to suit up for the Varsity. I am 5'10" and I wiegh 152, and I bench 200-205 (As of 1 week ago on FREE WEIGHTS). The problem is that my wieght gains have tapered off over the last few weeks. I take Cell Tech: Nitro Tech protein powder. I'm just wondering if anybody has any advice that will help me gain more weight, and enable me to achieve my goals?

Matt
rev8ball
rev8ball
United States
2003/03/16, 09:55 PM
At 14, you should have MORE than enough testosterone raging through your blood stream. My advice:

1. Lay off the supplements for now. At your age, you shouldnt need any. Get your diet in line, and I mean seriously. Eat like there is no tomorrow: a variety of proteins, carbs, and healthy fats.
2. Get with your S & C coach, and really focus on training hardcore in the compound lifts: squat, bench, deadlift, clean and jerk, military, etc. High weight, low rep scheme, with flawless form.

When you get these going, then you can start considering maybe some supplements. But dont even do that until you are pushing to the max with all of the above first!

Good luck....

--------------
Michael
"Trample the weak; hurdle the dead!"
jxlynxli
jxlynxli
United States
2003/03/17, 06:38 PM
i agree with rev, you should lay off the supplements and try to start on a clean and healthy diet, talk to your coach and get goin on a good routine fit for you...
2003/03/19, 10:23 PM