Group: Experienced Exercise

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 50, Messages: 19484

For intermediate and advanced individuals. Share and learn how to take your fitness to the next level!

Join group

Back to basics

ecuecc
ecuecc
United Kingdom
2007/04/13, 09:12 AM
Hi,

I started training regularly a few months ago, and would greatly appreciate opinions on my 'back to basics' three-day split routine I've currently settled on.

I've tried to build it around the main compound exercises - am interested to hear views on order of exercises, choice of exercises etc. Am trying to keep each session down to under an hour. Thanks

I aim for 3 sets of 10 for all exercises.

Day 1: Back, biceps

Deadlifts
One-arm dumbbell rows
Barbell curls
Concentration curls

Day 2: Chest, triceps

Flat bench press
Incline bench press
Dips
Tricep kickbacks
Tricep extensions

Day 3: Shoulders, legs

Military Press
Upright rows
Leg extensions
Squats

It's pretty simple, but I'm looking to gain strength and a bit of mass. FYI - I'm 21, 5'5 and weigh about 9 and a half stone.

Am a bit concerned that biceps may not be getting as productive a workout at the moment, particularly after deadlifts. Would a change be in order here?

Many thanks
2007/04/13, 10:17 AM
If it were me I would switch it to a 3 day total body routine designed around the compound movements. For starters I would eliminate the Concentration Curls, Tricep Kickbacks and the Leg Extensions. Again this is my opinion. If you are interested in a 3 day total body routine send me a IM.

--------------
Those who want tolerance must be tolerant to intolerance.
big_j_scf
big_j_scf
United States
2007/04/13, 01:49 PM
I would just say to do squats first on day 3. Such a total body movement should be done at the beginning of the workout... imo
yadmit
yadmit
Canada
2007/04/13, 02:16 PM
To me, a back to basics would be full body, compound movements with the odd isolation in for fun.