Group: Beginners to Exercise

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 968, Messages: 18927

Share and offer advice to beginners to the fitness world!

Join group

Advice on variety

heraldstorm
heraldstorm
United States
2012/01/27, 03:29 PM (Edited: heraldstorm - 2012/01/27, 03:30 PM)
Hey everyone,
   I'm new to the new FreeTrainers.  It's a great resource, but I'd like to know how to change up some of the workouts that are recommended.  The same 12 exercises every day for 6 months can not only get boring, but put the body into a situation where the workouts just aren't as effective as they were in the beginning.  I'm currently doing a beginner level cross training workout, if that information is helpful.

Does anyone know of a way to put variety into the recommended workouts?  Something that could offer different exercises every few weeks?  Work the same parts of the body in a slightly different way?  I'm not looking for hard core muscle confusion, just a breath of fresh air...also something that increases the challenge.  Fortunately, the workout is doing lots of good, and I'm starting to outgrow the basics of what I'm doing now, but I don't know where to go so that I've got a smooth ramp up to a higher level.

Thanks for your time and help!
-Herald
george
george
Canada
2012/01/27, 06:44 PM (Edited: george - 2012/01/27, 06:46 PM)
Hi Herald, one great way is to move up levels. Once beginner gets too easy switch up to intermediate, that will be a good challenge increase. If you are referring to the full body circuit training plan, then the intermediate level adds more options to the exercise you choose. This will allow you to create many different combinations and keep it new.

You can also switch to the intermediate level now and just train with the 60 second rest between sets instead of the recommended 45, so you get the variety yet keep your current fitness pace/level.