Group: General Fitness & Exercise

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 379, Messages: 54577

Various general exercise related discussions. Find out what it takes to reach your fitness goals through daily effective exercise. With so many options we try to find out what works best.

Join group

Basics of toning vs building mass

micheleg77
micheleg77
United States
2001/10/21, 01:27 PM
I am new to weight training and am trying to lose weight and tone my body. Could someone tell me the basics about how you tone muscles without building mass?

Appreciate the lesson!
ken30307
ken30307
United States
2001/10/21, 04:39 PM
Mi Michelle, great question!

The basic thing about toning vs building is lighter weights and more reps....but some say that there is really no difference between toning a muscle and building a muscle...just that when you use lighter wieghts and more reps that the muscle just grows more slowly. The more I think about it, the more I believe them. I don't think that there is a difference on the cellular level. Women seem to ask this question a lot because most don't want to get big and muscular..but I never met anyone who grew big muscles accidently!
Arnold
Arnold
Canada
2001/10/21, 05:34 PM
There is a misconception that building mass comes with ease.. when in reality it takes years and years of commitment - so don't worry. But the main things to keep in mind when 'toning' is the goal:

1. Include cardio - 15 to 30 minutes following workouts
2. Stay away from 'MASS Builders' such as; squats, deadlifts, etc.
3. Keep your repetitions in the range of 10-15.

Toning includes LARGE commitment to diet! If you need advice on diet let me know..

.o0 Arnold 0o.
micheleg77
micheleg77
United States
2001/10/22, 11:00 AM
Thanks for the info!