Group: Beginners to Exercise

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 968, Messages: 18927

Share and offer advice to beginners to the fitness world!

Join group

How much weight?

Snowyv21
Snowyv21
Canada
2009/06/18, 10:44 PM
So I'm fairly new to weight training and have no idea how to gauge how much I'm supposed to try and lift. I filled out the profile thing for a fitness plan with my goals/experience and such on this site and it gave me a plan to follow. I'm pretty new so I've got quite a few questions. Hopefully someone has the patience to bear with me and help me out here!

My problem is that I don't know how much weight to use. For example: the plan says to do 3 sets of 12, 10, and 8 leg presses, respectively. How do I know how much weight to do? A friend told me to figure out what my absolute max is for the 12 reps is (i.e. the 12th rep is JUST possible), and then do 80% of that. Is this correct?

My second question is that I noticed virtually all of the exercises the plan suggests I do involve a few sets with a sequentially decreasing # of reps.... what's the rationale for this?

My last question (for now, I promise =)) is: the suggested plan is given as Monday, Thurs, Sat. Does it really matter if I switch around from week to week between Mon/Thur/Sat and Mon/Wed/Fri or Mon/Wed/Sat? Since I work both a full time and a part time job that has a variable schedule, it's almost impossible for me to keep the exact same 3 days every week.

Thank you very much to whoever has the patience to read all this!
Snowyv21
Snowyv21
Canada
2009/06/19, 12:16 AM
err... could a moderator delete this please/ I'm reposting on a different board since I just noticed how inactive this board is =/
yadmit
yadmit
Canada
2009/06/19, 08:30 AM
oh.
yadmit
yadmit
Canada
2009/06/19, 08:34 AM
Let's try to help anyway: