Group: Competitive Bodybuilding & Fitness

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 21, Messages: 5367

Discuss the process of preparing for a competition on the sport of body building, fitness and more!

Join group

Becoming a body builder and genetics

redrider4life1
redrider4life1
United States
2005/09/22, 05:23 PM
I've been lifting for about 4 months now and my diet is very strict. I make sure I get all my vitamins, minerals, amino acids, and protein. The worst thing I eat is probably apple sauce or peanut butter and honey sandwiches.

I have a few friends that lift with me that put me down and tell me it's not possible unless you have the genetics for it. I understand some people have very good genetics like one of my buddies that is 5'7'' 170, lifts once a week doing every body part, and can bench 235 10 times. The kid sits on his ass and just gains muscle mass.

Anyway is there any truth to this? I was a firm believer that you can do anything you want to do which is why I still train as hard as I can and won't let them get to me. Also I am only eating about 3000 calories a day of healthy food, I find I eat more healthy foods, but my calorie intake is much less. I don't want to have to eat shitty foods in order to up my caloric intake.

Mike
lmelchior
lmelchior
United States
2005/09/22, 05:51 PM
I can't really answer your question, but I too have heard the same thing. I am 5'5" female, 123lbs and at 12.5% body fat and am trying to get more defined abs but have been told due to genetics and being a female this is a tough task. So same question, is this possible or are genetics stronger then hard work and a better diet. will Hopefully someone can answered our question.
timmstar
timmstar
Australia
2005/09/23, 08:56 AM
train hard. keep training. give it time. it will come.

12.5% bf for a chick is pritty good, just remember the less bf u want to decrease to the more stricter your diet and training will have to become.
bb1fit
bb1fit
United States
2005/09/23, 12:21 PM