Group: Women's Club

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 525, Messages: 10844

A place for women to gather and share experiences, advice and information amongst themselves.

Join group

spoon body shape

ndreagan
ndreagan
United States
2003/04/08, 02:54 PM
Hi, if this type question has been posted before, I apologize, this is my first time. I am 26 years old, 5'0", and fluctuate between 95-100lbs. I am generally very thin, to the point of being seriously underweight. (After the birth of my first child I weighed 87lbs.) I now have two children, and am still as skinny as can be, except for the huge flabby butt and thighs I have developed. I am extremely unactive-stay at home mom, and quite out of shape. I have been trying to exercise at home, I have the Gazelle--which my Army husband says is a joke. I am guessing that what is wrong with my thighs is termed a saddlebag. My husband tells me I should do squats and lunges. I have been researching online and have found conflicting advice. Since I tend to only gain weight in my butt and thighs, I have been told I should not use any resistance or weight, and should just do things like L-kicks, jumping jacks, non-weighted jumping rope, sit-ups, crunches, and arm weights. This is what I have been trying to do, although not long enough to see any results. My goal is to firm up and define, not bulk up. I don't wish to be sickly skinny, but I don't want my behind wobbling the way it does now, ewwww. :( Please help, at least let me know if I am doing the right thing. *I do have access to the gyms on post, but I am not sure if I should be using resistance or not. My waist measurement is 24.5", and my fullest part of hip/thigh is 35.25". Thank you for any advice you can give me. :)
Carivan
Carivan
Canada
2003/04/08, 04:52 PM
Welcome to the site ndreagan. You will find it vey imformative and addictive.
First off I applaud your husnamds advice. He's right. Squats and lunges build muscle in the thigh and glutes area.