Group: Beginners to Exercise

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 968, Messages: 18927

Share and offer advice to beginners to the fitness world!

Join group

Why do you do it?

2012/02/21, 08:46 PM
I'm not a beginner but I like to help beginners. My friends ask me why I lift, swim, paddle, walk and garden. It's simple. It makes me feel good.

No less no more.

Iread flogs. Somebody wrote last week that they wanted to quit at half a workout but a voice in their head told them not to. I wanted to skip it all together tonight. I heard the voice.

Feels good.
heraldstorm
heraldstorm
United States
2012/02/22, 02:16 PM
Great question, Charlie!

I have to come right out and admit that I don't care for exercise.  Lifting weights is not something I find pleasurable.  I do like hiking, but jogging/running or biking up mountains are not my ideas of fun.  Swimming with my son is one thing, swimming laps at the local pool is entirely different.  I like the outdoors, but I'm a computer geek through and through, and I'm happiest when I'm in front of a computer.  Computers and wilderness are not all that compatible.

What I do enjoy, though, are the rewards I get from doing the hard work.  I like being able to fit into smaller pants.  I like being able to go out without getting distasteful looks because I'm as big as a whale.  I like being able to run up a flight of stairs or walk up a hill to a building at work without getting out of breath.  I like hitting my weight loss goals and keeping the weight off because it means I get to give myself a "fitness present".  When I get to 185, I'm going to get myself a tablet computer, for example.