Group: Beginners to Exercise

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 969, Messages: 18927

Share and offer advice to beginners to the fitness world!

Join group

Training / Overtraining

Moridin
Moridin
United Kingdom
2001/06/25, 12:24 PM
Hi folks,
I am new to gym training with regard to weights and so forth. I have concerns about doing this weights plan that I have chosen .... I do martial arts 2 times a week and I plan to do weights, the days I do marts will be my rest days. I wish not to gain over-all body mass and such but I wish to gain even more definition and shape than what I have at the moment. My Sensei says I can either increase the number of sessions I do (unfortunately I cannot due to work committments) or go to the gym.
As a general rule I dislike gyms primarily because the few times (5 times 4 different gyms) I have gone I have had to put-up with a long wait to use the weights and general rudeness by big massive aggro times for politely asking whether I could use the machine when they had finished. To be paying the stupid amounts of money to go to a gym and put up with that kind of rubbish is terrible. Thus I refuse to go to the gym despite what anyone says to me.I am far from aggressive and would rather run looking like a coward than apply the many techniques I have learnt over the years I have done marts. To solve this dilemma I have bought myself a bench and some weights.
In terms of fitness I am fairly fit as I have to bike to and from work (5 miles away) everyday ... however my concerns are over-training and losing flexibility. Can I do myself damage by training 5 times a week ... 3 sessions with weights and 2 down the martial arts club? Can I also lose flexibilty by doing weight training?

Any replies to this will be gratefully received ..

Thanks

Andy
skylar
skylar
United States
2001/06/25, 08:44 PM