Group: Injuries & Rehabilitation

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 54, Messages: 4465

Dealing with injuries and learning how to avoid them is extremely important!

Join group

Slight pain in the shoulder...

Balkanac
Balkanac
Australia
2005/05/30, 04:46 AM
About a week ago I injured my shoulder. I am not sure how , but i just feel it in the muscle that connects with the pac. Its a very slight pain and I feel it when i do bench for example. I stoped lifting weights until it stop hurting.

Here is a few questions:

1) Should I still countinue eating as much as I am eating now while off weights ? ( 6 meals a day , high protein)

2) Should I do HIIT ( or any other cardion) while my injury heals?

I am still doing legs and abs at the gym becaouse it doesnt effect the shoulder.

I should add that I have been lifting weights for over three years and this is my first injury. Any advice would be greatly appriciated.

thank you
bropie
bropie
Canada
2005/05/30, 08:40 AM
1) keep up your meals.. maybe drop your varb intake to your maintenance level

2) if you are looking to continue trimming fat, then yes continue with HIIT

sounds like a rotator cuff injury to me.. look into this on google or something for some exercises (ie. internal/external rotation). i had a similar injury, trained them, and dont have the problem anymore. hope this helps..
dvelswk
dvelswk
United States
2005/05/31, 06:54 AM
Get an elastic band (you know the ones at physical therapy centers). The injury you have is a very common injury, I had it and the elastic band is what helped me. They strengthen your rotator cuffs up.
Balkanac
Balkanac
Australia
2005/05/31, 08:12 AM
Thanks for the reply guys. Just a couple more questions.

How long can I expect to be off training?
When I do go back, how heavy should I lift?

Thank you
bropie
bropie
Canada
2005/05/31, 10:18 AM