Group: Health Supplements

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 101, Messages: 16613

Supplements can be a great aid with your health and fitness goals. Combined with the proper exercise and nutritional plan they can be quite effective.

Join group

Newbs and Whey

tylerjb1
tylerjb1
United States
2002/02/19, 10:24 AM
Okay, I'm a newb lifter and I've started ft's 8 week mass program. I'm 24, 6ft and 205 (err... some fat here and there...) and I understand the importance of diet/supplements alongside the workout. So, I've tried some of the Designer Whey shakes... and trying to keep it down was almost as intense as my original workout. I mixed one scoop (17g of protein) with 8 ounces of water and can barely stomach the thing. What I tried next was just piling the stuff between two slices of bread and gulping it down - MUCH EASIER! I drank 20oz of water along side this.

So, my question is this: am I getting the same benefits regardless of how it's taken? Am I too early in my program to even consider taking it in the first place? Also, two glasses of milk contain the same amount of protein as one scoop... can I just replace the $20 protein canister with a gallon of milk?

I know a few of these questions were posted earlier, but this is a little more focused on what I was looking for.

Thanks for everyone's help... this is a tremendous community.

PS - I'm about 25lbs overweight (Im fat and bones right now... no muscle!)... shoudl I really be consuming 3000+ calories???
rpacheco
rpacheco
United States
2002/02/19, 10:50 AM
Welcome to ft! Whey protein shakes work best immediately after workout. Whey can be readily absorbed by the body and so this is the best time to take it. During the day, vary your protein sources...fish, milk, eggs, lean meats, chicken, etc. These are absorbed a little more slowly, but they are beneficial to your body's need for protein.