Group: General Fitness & Exercise

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 379, Messages: 54577

Various general exercise related discussions. Find out what it takes to reach your fitness goals through daily effective exercise. With so many options we try to find out what works best.

Join group

Lots of training, but gaining weight!

megacoupe
megacoupe
United States
2009/01/29, 06:34 PM
I've been training since around March 2008, averaging 3-4 times a week. In a nutshell, I do 6 weeks of strength-building, followed by a 1 week break, then 6 weeks of mass-building, another 1 week break, and finally, 6 weeks of endurance training. Then the cycle repeats.

When I started out, I weighed about 210-215 lbs. (I'm 5'11"). Now, I'm hovering around 233 lbs. It's obvious I've gained muscle mass; my chest is bigger, my shoulders are wider, my arms are thicker. However, I doubt I packed on THAT much muscle. Well, I know I didn't pack on that much: a suit I wore in late September at 224 lbs. barely fit me in mid-January at 230 lbs. It was tighter around the shoulders, but tighter around the waist as well.

When I started training, I barely did any cardio, then added the treadmill to my routine (about 20-30 minutes, after weight-training). I injured my right ankle and switched to doing about 10-15 minutes on an elliptical or stationary bike instead. Recently, I've upped my elliptical/bike time to about 20-25 minutes per session.

Around the time I started doing cardio (August 2008, I think), I also started being more careful about my diet: cutting out fried foods, sugars, white flour, etc. After a couple of months, I saw that my weight was still going up, so in addition to my diet, I started exercising portion control. And my weight continued to go up.