Group: Injuries & Rehabilitation

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 54, Messages: 4465

Dealing with injuries and learning how to avoid them is extremely important!

Join group

leg raises...it hurts!

liamofthewoods
liamofthewoods
Ireland
2005/04/13, 10:55 PM
Would be really grateful for some advice on leg raises which I have started as part of my abs workout. I'll try to give you as much info as possible. I have an old lumbar injury..(two ruptured discs) but I've had it so long I'm used to the odd twinge (master of understatement:))and I'm careful. If I feel I'm overdoing it I stop, rest it, and then get on with things. I don't have access to a gym so I'm doing this at home without equipment other than a couple of dumbells. My problem is that when I do leg raises my lower spine crunches on the floor and its pretty excruciating (actually not pretty at all....just excruciating!) I wondered if there is some alternative method to work the same muscle group or some way to vary the exercise to keep the affected area from grinding on the floor.
I did complete the sets of reps but I've got that warning ache and tingle running down to my knee and I don't think it's advisable for me to do these in future.
i've checked the other posts on back problems but couldn't find anything on this specific.

....apart from this the workout hurts real nice! LOL
hope you can help.

--------------
Change is inevitable; except from vending machines

Liam.
liamofthewoods
liamofthewoods
Ireland
2005/04/14, 07:55 PM
I'm due to do another abs workout on saturday but wont be back to a computer till Sunday night so if anyone has any suggestions now would be a good time:big_smile:. I dont want to end up doing an incomplete workout if I can help it.

--------------
Getting older isn\'t so bad...if you consider the alternative.

Liam.
princesslodgey
princesslodgey
United Kingdom
2005/04/15, 05:20 AM