Group: Health & Fitness over 40

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 206, Messages: 2480

Group dedicated to men and women over the age of 40 that care about their health and want to take the fitness and nutrition down the right path.

Join group

Dieting by 'thirds'

crackerjack
crackerjack
United Kingdom
2004/02/22, 03:40 PM
Okay, so I don't really mean 'diet' I despise the word. But, I liked the title so I"ll leave it.

I'm currently reviewing my eating habits and trying to make some changes, given that what I've been doing for the last several months is not producing the results I want. In keeping with my belief that to produce long term changes rather than frustration, I need to take things a step at a time, I decided to go at it a third of the day at a time, begining with the hours before lunch.

What does a 'good day look like for the rest of you? What kinds of things should I add or avoid? I usually do my workout in the morning - does that affect how or what I eat? Sometimes all I have room for is a few bites, what's little but goes a long way?

And because I know you always ask for some background to better tailor your advice, here is a bit about what I'm doing now: After reading BB1's latest entry about dieting in another forum, I seem to fall in the 'stubborn fat, moderate activity' category looking for a nicely balanced, liveable way of eating. I never eat packaged cookies and cakes or chips - I actually don't like them, so I make my own (bread as well) and throw in 'extras' like whey or flax seed or wheat germ, etc. I try to have 'good fats' like avocado, walnuts and olive oil, though my brief flurtation with flax seed oil did not go well. We eat out one evening a week (chinese or indian usually) and average a fast food lunch once a week (which I split with someone else 30/60 - i have the 30). I prefer small amounts of 'real' ingredients rather than 'low fat' versions and never use artificial sweetners.

Thanks for any suggestions you care to make.

CJ