Group: Health & Fitness over 40

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 206, Messages: 2480

Group dedicated to men and women over the age of 40 that care about their health and want to take the fitness and nutrition down the right path.

Join group

Abs Over 40

treadhead
treadhead
United States
2004/03/02, 09:35 PM
I wish I wasn't so uptight about the handles but I'm still on active duty (two years to go) and I just can't embrace the idea that aging wasn't just a bad rumor someone started.
treadhead
treadhead
United States
2004/03/02, 09:20 PM
Greetings. I'm new. This is my first post. I'm a 44 year old male who grew up as the kind of guy that'd get sand kicked in his face. I didn't really fill out until I joined the Army back in 79 - and even then filling out meant 6'0 tall and 155 pounds. I was probably about 4% BF with a 30 inch waist. I stayed that way until I was about 30 or so when I started lifting weights. I never stuck with it more than a year at a time or so but still it bumped me up to about 175 with a 32 inch waist. I stayed fit through college as I was in ROTC and of course I stayed fit once I returned to active duty - that was when I started hittin the weights. Back in 98 I got tagged with an assignment to Honduras. I was so bored that I lifted for 6 straight months. Again, I bumped up in weight, to 190, and left there with a 34 inch waist. Seeing a pattern here? Every time I get serious with weights my waist get bigger. Now that I'm older I think my metabolism is slowing down cause I now have these friggin love handles on my sides and lower back. I'm now up to 205 but I still have a 34 inch waist. Go figure. This is driving me nuts. I know I don't exercise the way I used to but jeez, this is absurd. I look in the mirror and I can't believe I'm the guy that was once 6'0, 135 pounds. I'm not asking for much, I just want to lose these disgusting handles. Someone please advise. Even if what you're going to tell me is something you suspect I won't want to hear. I