Group: Experienced Exercise

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 50, Messages: 19484

For intermediate and advanced individuals. Share and learn how to take your fitness to the next level!

Join group

Cardiac Patient Needs Advice

vincelee
vincelee
United States
2008/04/18, 07:08 PM
Hello all,
I am a 37 year old male with congenital heart defect. I have been exercising for many years but I want to make it to the next level; six-pack abs and a lean body like Bruce Lee, not a body builder. My limitations (per cardiologist) is to not lift so heavy to where I have to grunt in order to make it happen and I should keep my reps high and not as low as 2-8. I am 5'6" and 135lbs. My o2(oxygen) saturation is at 91% and I can do 30-45 minute cardios and weights. However, I don't know what is my max heart rate because I'm a bit nervous about testing that out for obvious reasons:) My energy level is high and I am in pretty stable health in general.

So, how should I test my max heart rate or should I? What kind of diet should I follow? How many days per week should I exercise for quickest results?

Thank you in advance for anyone who responds!:love:

--------------
\\"Don\\'t take life to serious, it isn\\'t permanent.\\"
georgiagirl
georgiagirl
United States
2008/04/19, 08:40 AM
Vincelee... there is a guy who used to come here alot that has a carbon valve.He has done great! HE is out of town until next wednesday but I will leave him a msg to stop by and talk to ya. Good luck

--------------
Life is either a daring adventure or nothing. Security does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than exposure.---Helen Keller
vincelee
vincelee
United States
2008/04/19, 12:51 PM
Gratzi, GeorgiaGirl!
Carivan
Carivan
Canada
2008/04/19, 10:11 PM
First off , your cardiologist should tell you what your max heart rate should be with your condirion.
To find out what one's Max HR should be do the following: