Group: Health Supplements

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 101, Messages: 16613

Supplements can be a great aid with your health and fitness goals. Combined with the proper exercise and nutritional plan they can be quite effective.

Join group

I Am New to Whey Protein -- Help

davidday
davidday
United States
2006/06/14, 08:11 AM
Okay, so I bought some Six Star Body Fuel Advanced Whey Protein. My questions are:

1. Is this stuff any good? I mean I know it tastes good, but what about the quality of the product?

2. On the packaging it says, "Use this product as a food supplement only. Do not use for weight reduction." Well, problem is -- I need to lose weight. I'm 5'10" and weigh 258 lbs. Is the "do not use for weight reduction" line just standard jargon on all protein powders, or will it actually keep me from losing weight?

FYI: Here's the list of ingredients. Is there anything here I should avoid as I try to lose fat and add lean muscle?

Other Ingredients: WHEY PROTEIN CONCENTRATE** (PROVIDING DI-, TRI-, OLIgO-, AND POLYPEPTIDES), ALKALIZED COCOA POWDER, WHEY PROTEIN ISOLATE** (ION-EXCHANGED 97% PURITY), NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS (DEXTROSE, MODIFIED STARCH, PROPYLENE GLYCOL), PARTIALLY HYDROLYZED WHEY PROTEIN**, BORAGE OIL (GELATIN, MALODEXTRIN, SODIUM CASENIATE, MONO- AND DIGLYCERIDE, MIXED TOCOPHEROLS), FLAX OIL POWDER (GLUCOSE SYRUP, MANNITOL), SUCRALOSE, ACESULFAME-POTASSIUM, MALODEXTRIN, SOY LECITHIN, SILICON DIOXIDE.
**Ingredients derived from milk.

Thanks in advance!

--------------
Dave
----------------------------------------
Eu achei um amor que é bom para mim...
davidday
davidday
United States
2006/06/14, 08:31 AM
I also forgot to mention that it has Creatine Monohydrate, Guar Gum, Glutamine alpha-ketoglutarate, glutamine peptides, L-Glutamine, L-leucine, L-Valine, and L-Isoleucine.

I have no idea what they are...

--------------
Dave
----------------------------------------
Eu achei um amor que é bom para mim...
mysticgraces
mysticgraces
Canada