Group: Competitive Bodybuilding & Fitness

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 21, Messages: 5367

Discuss the process of preparing for a competition on the sport of body building, fitness and more!

Join group

Personal Trainer Certification

lexballer13
lexballer13
United States
2005/02/10, 05:32 PM
I am currently studying exercise science at a university and I want and need to get certified. I am debating between ACE (American Counsel on Exercise) and NFPT (National Federation of Professional Trainers). Any insight or experience is greatly appreciated. I want to get on this as soon as possible.
rev8ball
rev8ball
United States
2005/02/10, 05:56 PM
First off, a number of us on this site are certified (as well as certifiable...LOL), and several topics have been based on those discussions; try a search here at FTs and see what comes up.

Second, I believe that with your BS in exercise science, you'll also be able to get your ACSM cert.

Good luck.

--------------
Michael

100% AMMONIA SNORTIN, ANGER MANAGEMENT CLASS FAILING, BIG IRON LOVIN, FACE SLAPPIN, HEAVY METAL LISTENIN, CHALK CLOUD MAKIN, GUM BLEEDIN, SCABBY-SHINNED, LEATHER PALMED, BLOOD-SHOT EYED, KNEE WRAP WEARIN, RIP IT UP OFF THE FLOOR, DO OR DIE TRYIN, FAILURE IS NOT AN OPTION, BAR BENDIN POWERLIFTER. You got a problem with that?
lindyaaron
lindyaaron
United States
2005/02/11, 04:46 PM
I also am studying exercise science. I have issa (www.issaonline.com) I use to have nfpt, but as an independent trainer you do not need all of the certs. I would go with ACE over NFPT. Just from experience of being certified with them for about 5 years.

Lindy
Carivan
Carivan
Canada
2005/02/11, 08:08 PM
I am almost ready to write my ISSA exam and very satisfied so far.
BTW...welcome to freetrainers Lindyaaron.
You have a very inspirational site and congratulations on your success. Keep going!

--------------
Scales are for dead weight: We are not dead yet!
Still trying to find out how to do the Hollywood Free Press.

Ivan