Group: New Members Greet & Meet - Introduce yourself

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 1537, Messages: 27036

Officially introduce yourself to the community by sharing your goals, obstacles or accomplishments. Don't be shy.. we're all here for the same reason. The more support we share the easier it will be to reach our goals!

Join group

New to fitness and workouts. Any helpful tips?

maddymonkey
maddymonkey
United States
2016/01/04, 07:33 PM
Hi! I am a 2nd year nursing student under a lot of stress, and I figured exercise would be a great stress releiver! However, I am new to this whole fitness routine. I am going to be doing the at home routine for at least 2-3 months before I even think about getting a gym membership. I was wondering if anyone has any tips on how to keep motivated, or some actually tasty, healthy recipes, or just general knowledge that you wish you would have known before starting. My goal is NOT to lose fat, because I don't need to do that, but if I need to lose a little so I can regain that weight in muscle, I will.
So here is some background on me:
-I am 18 years old, 5' 1", and have been weighing in at 109.6 for the past 2 weeks. 
-I live with my mom and dad, and we all eat mostly vegetarian, with some type of meat every 2 weeks or so. (usually chicken or beef)
-My endurance and stamina is pretty low
-I cannot do crunches, because my back cannot bend much due to scoliosis correction surgery. Sit ups are currently a no-go for me too, until my core strength is higher.
-My core strength is very weak
-My legs and glutes are fairly strong due to me biking every other day to my job during the summer
Here is a pic of me: http://imgur.com/a/3RMZe
Some equipment my household has:
-bowflex
-recumbent bike
-adjustable dumbbells
-5lb kettlebell
-Various strength resistance bands (like the type you use in yoga)
-Pull up assist bar
Here are a list of things I'd like to better myself with, and my plan
- Increase endurance/stamina