Group: Specific Diets & Nutrition

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 104, Messages: 22775

With so many diets and nutritional plans out there, you can get lost. Find out what works best for others and share your experiences!

Join group

Holiday eating

Drew
Drew
United States
2000/12/21, 03:51 PM
Hi, Im kind of new to the whole diet scene. I try to watch the calories as well as the amount of protein and carbs (and, of course, fat). I'm trying to eat enough to lose weight with aerobics, but maintain muscle mass with loads of protein. With the holidays coming right around the corner, what would be good to eat? I love turkey and thats probably what we will have. But, I also love the dressing, the gravy, and everything else served with it. I could use a little advise please.
Adrian
Adrian
Switzerland
2000/12/21, 09:29 PM
Eat all the turkey you can :) Don't under-eat, but overeating for a short period of time is not TOO bad. What is bad is an unhealthy lifestyle where you always wat too much or too little. Small fluctuations in a healthy lifestyle is not a problem. I believe Barry Sears (the author of the Zone books) wrote that your metabolism can be adjusted with every meal that you eat, so the minute you start eating healthy, your metabolism speeds up. Meaning, eating bad for a week will not affect you two weeks from now. I don't know if it's true, but it sure feels reassuring sometimes :)
Dvdgstwrt
Dvdgstwrt
United States
2000/12/30, 10:59 AM
Hello Drew,

Well, my belief is knowledge is power, with that in mind I wish to direct you to a good book that may help in you dietary goals: “Bodystat” by Eric Witt, Ph.D. and Carol Wirth. Published by Penguin Books
This book will tell you what are good foods to eat, and which foods to stay away from. While being able to eat sufficent amounts to keep going.

After all, food is fuel, if you don't keep fuel in your car, it stops running, same with the human body.