Group: All Else Lounge

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 42, Messages: 22740

This is the place you can discuss anything else that is on your mind that isn't already covered by other groups. Share what's on your mind and see who else has something to say about it!

Join group

static contraction... a new variation??

Aoraki
Aoraki
United Kingdom
2010/12/28, 12:03 PM
Hi

I know this topic is old... and I'm new to training again, so a bit out of the loop. Now I've recently read about static contraction and first thing that sprang to mind was the collosal weight people would need to lift. I've seen a youtube vid of a guy with 40plus huge plates on a leg squat! That can't be safe or good for joints.

Now I've been thinking about this and what has sprung to mind is that in static contraction you hold the weight at the point of greatest strength for about ten seconds.. no movement, or very little.. so in bench press this is about 2-4 inches from lockout. Now this is the greatest point of strength because leverage is in your favour... arms almost straight. So why not do this same technique at greatest point of weekness bar just above chest?? Surely then when leaverage is fighting against you it adds extra force applied to the muscle, thus you need to load the bar with far far less. I'm assuming that although the muscle is at almost full extension here it will contract the same at any point of it's stretch and the workout will be the same??

I tried this today... normal static contraction on bench at home.. at full strength point (2" from lockout).. could hold well over 100KG.. could get no where near enough weight on the bar to make it a short time of static holding and I'm a gibbon with huge long arms that make benching hard work.