Group: Strength & Powerlifting

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 39, Messages: 16459

Discuss the topic of Power lifting, Strength training and Strong Man training!

Join group

Training for Rugby

Shotty
Shotty
United States
2003/06/18, 01:57 PM
I've been playing rugby in the Northwest U.S. for a couple years and find it a very odd sport to train for. Obviously you need the power and speed (in some cases size)of a football program, but endurance like a soccer player. It seems like I can get powerful in squats, but then sacrifice much of it with lengthy sprint and endurance running when nearing the season! It seems to be give and take regimen, Anyone with any experience here?
2003/06/19, 01:42 PM
I started playing rugby a year ago, and I have to admit I still haven't gotten the endurance part down yet. As a former football player, I thought rugby would be an easy transition, but man was I wrong. I try to offset the gain/lose cycle by alternating my lifting and running days, resting a lot, and stretching every day. And I make sure my calorie count is way up to fuel the whole process. If you're a back, you probably know it's worth giving up some mass for speed. Good luck!

--------------
OSU Law Rugby....specializing in personal injury and pain & suffering.
dschofield
dschofield
United Kingdom
2003/06/20, 03:59 AM
Which code of Rugby do you play, and which position?

Rugby League is usually faster, and requires less power (except though tackles).

Rugby Union is more physical, with more power required (for scrums, etc), also higher jumping could be useful (lineouts).

Attacking positions will normally need to be faster, and defensive players stronger.
richardjst
richardjst
United States
2003/06/23, 12:20 PM