Group: Strength & Powerlifting

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 39, Messages: 16459

Discuss the topic of Power lifting, Strength training and Strong Man training!

Join group

BIG strength BUT moderate size?

omen2853
omen2853
United States
2003/05/11, 09:45 PM
got a question for you powerlifters out there. im thinking of getting into martial arts (jiujitsu specifically). ive been lifting religiously for 3 years, 4-5 days a week 2parts pr/day 6 excersizes total;(although i should be doing a better job with my diet). ive seen big strength gains, some fat loss (as ive increased cardio to compensate for my not so good diet..not that bad a diet just could be better). currently im 5'9 about 175 with not too much body fat and a good amount of muscle. so here comes the big question.

with jiu-jitsu strength is a MUST (how else can you break limbs..not that i would but..). what i want to do is get a BIG jump in overall power/strength/muscle WITHOUT a big jump in overall size (i dont want to be too wide/bulky for my height, just solid AND defined). as bluntly as i can put it, when i get this strength i want to get hard not big. any suggestions for excersizes that will help me? diet advice will help too (i need it). thanks...
oxdp954
oxdp954
United States
2003/05/12, 08:35 PM
When you say Ju-Jitsu I'm assuming you're talking about Brazilian Ju-Jitsu. If not disreguard my message.

SIZE and Strength are NOT NOT NOT important in Ju-Jitsu. In fact the art is based on a smaller man fighting a much larger opponet. I'm currently a 3rd degree blue belt in Brazilian Ju-Jitsu (under Royce Gracie) and beleave me size is not important. What is though is you technique. You can be the strongest dude on the planet and if your technique sucks the only thing that's going to break is your jaw, from the dude your fighting with's hand.