• United States United States
  • Male
  • 59 years old
  • United States United States
  • Male
  • 59 years old

Introduction

Recently retired after 22 years of service in the United States Navy. I am 48, 49 in sept. If the activity has anything to do with being outside, on the water I am game for it. I love sailing and playing on the water with my kids. fitness mind set is a key element in my daily routine even when I am on my off week which I take after two weeks of hard training doing my routine or with my clients.

Goals and motivation

To keep doing what I am doing till the day the good Lord does not permit me to do so. I've been a personal trainer now for eight years 5 years when I was stationed in San Diego and 3 years in Maryland after my re-assignment here. I am in better shape now than when I was in my teens. Then again I was a true 95lbs. soak and wet weakling back then. I would never thought that any given day I would pick up 125 lbs. dumbbell and use them for my dumbbell press routine. I have developed my own "boot camp" style routine incorporating my martial art experience and a form of motabolic surge style routine for strenght training and cardio boosting. With this routine I now run a 7 minute mile without incorporating any kind of running routine into my scheduel (I don't like running). I am what I call a "test rat" for the work out I precribe to my client. If I don't feel the result when I perform the routine I eliminate it from my clients routine.

I have found/realized that being a personal trainer is more than just showing my clients proper technique. I have become their motivator in every aspect of their life, hence when they come to the gym for a work out I can read them easier to determine what kind of mind set they are in.