Group: General Diet & Nutrition

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 399, Messages: 16719

With such a topic so broad we truly try to cover the basics from all angles in this group. Nothing too big or too small. Nutrition is as significant if not more as exercise is to reaching your goals so learn all you can.

Join group

Starting with simple, realistic choices

Parch
Parch
Canada
2008/08/14, 03:02 PM
Lots of great info here and there's certainly no harm in being informed, but I'm a realist. I'm not a pro athlete. I'm not a bodybuilder. I just want to be healthy. If you feel it's necessary to count calories, gram percentages, and measure every ounce of food you put in your body then do it. That's not for me. I'm not going to get obsessive about health, I don't even want to own a scale, and I have a lot better things to do than stress out over things like this. I just want to be healthier without the stress.

I understand that it takes a certain amount of commitment and I did that. Learning is the first step and it's sites like this that have been extremely helpful. I'm very grateful of the info here, but sometimes I think it's a little too convoluted and complicated for my liking. If you're one of the pro competitors here then I'm sure all this complication is necessary, but for an average Joe Schmo like me, simple is better.

I chose to become healthier and I've done that with just a few realistic lifestyle choices that I can do without a lot of grief. If it wasn't working then I would add a few more choices that might be a little more difficult, but over a couple of years I've lost weight, added muscle, feel a lot better and am very happy with the changes. These choices are not mind-boggling complicated and are things I can do for the rest of my life. Here's the REALISTIC choices I've made...

1. Exercise more.