Group: I am overweight or obese

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 381, Messages: 6449

Being overweight is a common trait these days and there is not enough help out there. Find out how you can shed those pounds and improve yourself from within.

Join group

Need Advice On Losing A Bunch Of Weight

bdpalmbos
bdpalmbos
United States
2009/01/24, 12:00 AM
I am 33 year old male, and have unfortunatly let myself go since graduating highschool 15 years ago. I have battled my weight all my life, I have always been the fat kid. When I graduated I weighed 230lbs. After settling down and starting a family I have put on another 100lbs over the past 15 some odd years. It's time to get my health in order so that I can be around for my kids down the road. To this point I have been pretty fortunate not having the health issues that plague many obesse people. I don't have any issues with diabetes, or high blood pressure, but if I keep heading down this road it will probably be a matter of time. My wife has lost about 75lbs over the past 16 months so I know it can be done, and have the support from her as well. She is a stay at home Mom, so it is a little easier for her to find the time to go to the gym while the kids are at school. Since the first of the year I made a commitment to myself to do what I can to improve my health. I found this website and have set up the fitness program to give me a guide with my workouts. A community rec center has just opened up in one of the schools just minutes from our house, and also right on the way to work. They have some very nice equipment from treadmills, elipticles, and bikes to nautalas and free wights. I have been going to the rec center 3 days per week (Mon, Wed, Fri) in the morning before work. Unfortunatly I also have a desk job, so that doesn't help with my activity level. My workouts to this point have consisted of a 10 minute warm up, typically on a tread mill, followed by 30 minutes of weight training, following the program on this we