Group: General Diet & Nutrition

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 399, Messages: 16719

With such a topic so broad we truly try to cover the basics from all angles in this group. Nothing too big or too small. Nutrition is as significant if not more as exercise is to reaching your goals so learn all you can.

Join group

Morning walk in the cold cold morning

Diana123
Diana123
Hungary
2004/02/01, 02:51 PM
Hi all!!Two questions, first:is getting up and going for a brisk walk on an empty stomach first thing in the morning for about 30 minutes worth as about as much as a cardio at the gym after breakfast? second: since it's pretty cold here, does the body burn significantly more calories to keep warm or is that amount not that much more? Thanks!
ioioio
ioioio
Kuwait
2004/02/01, 03:44 PM
Your first question. Going to the gym after breakfast is a much better cardio, your body needs it's food especially after you have woken up in the morning. Question 2, i am not a proffesional but i think that the body doesn;t burn significantly more calories to keep warm. Bye diana123
aaronmp2003
aaronmp2003
United States
2004/02/01, 05:32 PM
Dina,

ioioio is correct - your body needs calories to power a good workout, especially after sleeping. You don't need a HUGE breakfast, but you should eat something healthy before heading out.

As far as staying warm, although the act of shivering is by definition, a way of generating heat be expending energy, there is not a significant additional calorie burn from that.

Let me know how else I can help.

--------------
Aaron M. Potts
Aarons Personal Training
http://www.aaronspersonaltraining.com
http://www.issacertifications.com
Jacksonville, FL
Diana123
Diana123
Hungary
2004/02/02, 07:07 AM