Group: I am overweight or obese

Created: 2012/01/01, Members: 381, Messages: 6449

Being overweight is a common trait these days and there is not enough help out there. Find out how you can shed those pounds and improve yourself from within.

Join group

chest pains, progress hault

evol_js
evol_js
United States
2006/08/10, 10:46 AM
I've been working out for about 5 months now. I'm on a 6 day a week weight program (each body part twice a week) and cardio after weights for 4 of those days. I've made pretty good progress-- I lost about 30 pounds in 2 months, but then I just stopped losing weight. My diet is great.. so I'm wondering if maybe it's my exercise program.

Also, even after all these months, I'm still unable to do 45 minutes of cardio at 80% without having chest pains. I usually do about 20 minutes on an elliptical machine. If I push myself too hard, I start to get chest pains. I am on high blood pressure medication, but it was cut in half already because my blood pressure is perfect now after losing 30 pounds. Am I doomed to make no more gains?

Should I try a split where I have a day with no weight lifting and just cardio? Any suggestions would be great.

KC_72
KC_72
United States
2006/08/10, 11:32 AM
45 minutes of cardio at 80% seems like alot to me???Have you tried hiit training instead of a straight run?Well I see you use the elliptical machine but the same principles would apply.For me it is much easier on my heart rate to do my cardio in intervals of speed instead just all out for 45 minutes.I've seen your posts and I know you are doing very well with your weight loss...keep it up!:)You'll find the answer you're looking for.

I am curious if 80% for 45 min is alot though...anybody???
evol_js
evol_js
United States
2006/08/10, 11:37 AM
Well I read somewhere that unless you can do 80% for 45 minutes you shouldn't even attempt HIIT.. maybe it was false information.. but I got that from www.johnstonefitness.com