Group: Women's Club

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 525, Messages: 10844

A place for women to gather and share experiences, advice and information amongst themselves.

Join group

struggling trainer-women's weight loss

returnofplex
returnofplex
United States
2007/10/26, 12:27 AM
Hi everyone! I'm a newly certified trainer and I could use some advice. I took on a client about 5 weeks ago, and even though we're doing everything right, she hasn't lost a single pound. I'm aware that muscle weighs more than fat, and I do have her doing a moderate strength training program(3 days a week), but I don't think that she's gaining the same amount of muscle as lost fat. She's been doing cardio for three days a week, at about 30 minutes a shot. Her heart rate is just where it needs to be. Also I've calculated her base metabolic rate, and she's eating a very sensible diet. By my calculations, she's creating a 500-600 calorie a day deficit. This should mean at least a pound a week of healthy weight loss.
I have applied the same principles to myself, and gotten way better than average results. I'm very into educating myself, so what am I missing here?
wrestler125
wrestler125
United States
2007/10/26, 12:14 PM
Hard to say without seeing your client. One thing I don't recommend is a linear diet, they lead to stagnation way to quick. Have her get a bit more calories at least once a week (preferably a work out day) and a higher carbohydrate intake on training days as opposed to non training days.

Also, one common thing trainers do is they don't pay attention to nutrient timing. You can tell your client to get 2000 calories, but unless you are there watching them, then it's tough to make sure they are eating breakfast, eating often, etc.