Group: General Diet & Nutrition

Created: 2011/12/31, Members: 399, Messages: 16719

With such a topic so broad we truly try to cover the basics from all angles in this group. Nothing too big or too small. Nutrition is as significant if not more as exercise is to reaching your goals so learn all you can.

Join group

Help. Im confused. Running And Weight Tr

anewfoundsin
anewfoundsin
United States
2007/06/26, 02:09 PM
Hello I have a question. I've been running for about 3-4 months now on a consistent 4-5x a week slowly increasing my mileage. I got to point where I can 4-5 miles straight without stopping. My original intent was distance running and maybe run marathon one day. That is until about last month when i decided to do Weight Training as a Priority instead of distance running. (My friend saids you will get toned and look better and burn more fat)
So for about almost a month I been hitting the gym with heavy weights with intent to bulid muscle (im 25 male). I still run but 2-3x week on my off days. But NOW, I can barely run 2 miles nonstop!! I have to stop. It sucks! Why is it now I can barely run 2 miles straight where before I even ran up to 6 miles without stopping.
Any ideas?
dart368
dart368
United States
2007/06/27, 01:07 AM
You may not be taking in enough calories/carbs for the amount of exercise that you are doing and your body doesn't have the fuel to do all that you are asking it to do. Check out the calorie calculator and the nutritional plan above. Also, make sure that you are properly hydrated as that will fatigue your body as well. Good luck. :-)
msmogreen
msmogreen
United States
2007/07/02, 01:31 PM